Railway Children
Hull Truck Theatre

On Demand: The Railway Children

  • By E Nesbit
  • Adapted by Mike Kenny
  • Directed by Mark Babych

This event is online, on demand and is available to watch from Mon 6 December 2021.

All aboard as E Nesbit's classic story steams into Hull this Christmas!

Join Bobby, Peter and Phyllis in this warm-hearted, uplifting tale of hope, friendship and family. With their Father gone, the family is forced to leave their comfortable home in London. Here in Yorkshire they experience a life of adventure by the railway, whilst struggling to make ends meet. Through the kindness and generosity of friends and neighbours they continue to have faith that it’ll all come right in the end.

Mike Kenny (Cinderella & Sleeping Beauty) has revisited his award-winning adaptation to include the original songs that have become a much-loved part of a Hull Truck Theatre Christmas show. Directed by Mark Babych and from the team who brought you Oliver Twist and Peter Pan, the delightful original music, toe-tapping dance routines and breath-taking set and costumes guarantee a treat for all the family to enjoy.

The Railway Children won an Olivier Award in 2011 and has been performed at the National Railway Museum York, Waterloo Station London, Roundhouse Park Toronto and Kings Cross Station London.

Dates
Mon 06 December - Sun 02 January
Venue
Online
Tickets
Suggested Price £15

Buy Tickets

This event is online, on demand and is available to watch from Mon 6 December 2021.

All aboard as E Nesbit's classic story steams into Hull this Christmas!

Join Bobby, Peter and Phyllis in this warm-hearted, uplifting tale of hope, friendship and family. With their Father gone, the family is forced to leave their comfortable home in London. Here in Yorkshire they experience a life of adventure by the railway, whilst struggling to make ends meet. Through the kindness and generosity of friends and neighbours they continue to have faith that it’ll all come right in the end.

Mike Kenny (Cinderella & Sleeping Beauty) has revisited his award-winning adaptation to include the original songs that have become a much-loved part of a Hull Truck Theatre Christmas show. Directed by Mark Babych and from the team who brought you Oliver Twist and Peter Pan, the delightful original music, toe-tapping dance routines and breath-taking set and costumes guarantee a treat for all the family to enjoy.

The Railway Children won an Olivier Award in 2011 and has been performed at the National Railway Museum York, Waterloo Station London, Roundhouse Park Toronto and Kings Cross Station London.

Event Details

When booking a ticket you should select the date you want your 72 hour viewing period to start from. Note - please disregard the event time, you can start watching at any point on the date you've selected and for 72 hours thereafter.

Auto-captions are available for on demand events. Captions with 99% accuracy will be available from Wed 8 December.

If you would like to join us in person you can purchase tickets for the show at Hull Truck Theatre by CLICKING HERE.

Recommended Age: 7+

Running Time: Approx 2 hours 20 mins (including a break/interval)

Once you have booked you will receive an email with your e-ticket attached. This e-ticket will contain information about where to go to access the show along with some simple FAQs.

You will need to have your email address and Hull Truck Theatre password to hand, in order to log in to the website. If you haven't created a password you can visit our FAQs below for instructions on how to do this.

If you don’t receive your e-ticket straight away after purchasing, please check your spam/junk folders.

If you are using a smart TV, you should be able to access the show through your browser - more info in the FAQs below.

CLICK HERE for more online event help, advice and FAQs.

Buy Tickets

Mon 06 December
11:59PM
Tue 07 December
11:59PM
Wed 08 December
11:59PM
Thu 09 December
11:59PM
Fri 10 December
11:59PM
Sat 11 December
11:59PM
Sun 12 December
11:59PM
Mon 13 December
11:59PM
Tue 14 December
11:59PM
Wed 15 December
11:59PM
Thu 16 December
11:59PM
Fri 17 December
11:59PM
Sat 18 December
11:59PM
Sun 19 December
11:59PM
Mon 20 December
11:59PM
Tue 21 December
11:59PM
Wed 22 December
11:59PM
Thu 23 December
11:59PM
Fri 24 December
11:59PM
Sat 25 December
11:59PM
Sun 26 December
11:59PM
Mon 27 December
11:59PM
Tue 28 December
11:59PM
Wed 29 December
11:59PM
Thu 30 December
11:59PM
Fri 31 December
11:59PM
Sat 01 January
11:59PM
Sun 02 January
11:59PM

Join our Mailing List

Signup to receive information about events, special offers, activities and how you can support us

You've joined our mailing list. Thank you!

Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the Hull Truck Theatre Newsletter

Required Required Required